2014

“Hello people! Happy 2014! I can´t believe it´s already 2014. Where did time go? Seriously though, I feel like I graduated yesterday, but that was definitely two years ago. Cray! Speaking of cray, I taught this word to cute Hermana Peña and now she can´t stop. And it´s always used towards me. ¨Hermana Patterson es cray cray!¨ Oh my. Haha! 
Image

So I wanted to share my quote for this week. It has applied so well and I just love Richard G. Scott. ¨Just when all seems to be going right, challenges often come in multiple doses applied simultaneously. When those trials are not consequences of your disobedience, they are evidence that the Lord feels you are prepared to grow more. He therefore gives you experiences that stimulate growth, understanding, and compassion which polish you for your everlasting benefit.¨

All I can say is amen! I have read this quote over and over this week, it has helped me a lot. As always it´s important to stay positive and keep moving forward! Even when the days are hard. Just take in everyday, learn from your trials, and always hope for a better tomorrow.  The best advice I have received while on the mish was about the atonement. And how to apply it to our daily lives. Especially as a missionary. With the advice came this scripture, Jacob 1:8, ¨Believe in Christ… and suffer His cross and bear the shame of the world.¨ As a missionary, I am a disciple of Christ. I know that He lives. I know that His gospel has been restored to the earth, and this is why I am here in El Salvador. To share this message. I love being a missionary.

Anyways, just a great quote, I hope it helps you all in your lives as well.

So as usual, I have a lot of weird, interesting, crazy stories. 

This first one is for my little brother Jay. So I was on the bus the other day and a little boy came on. He was selling apples. It´s a sad thing to see because little children are sent to work the day they can walk. Ahh, it just kills me inside. Anyways, I saw he had the same shirt as my little brother Jay used to have. It was green with a stripe on the top. His was worn down and had a hole in it. When I looked at this little boy´s face I saw Baby Jay Jay. I automatically starting tearing up! I miss my brothers. And you better believe I bought those apples. Hashtag count your blessings.

In Spanish puzzles are called rompe cabezas, which translates to break heads.

 
Becky Bunker! I met your El Salvadorian twin the other day, miss you!

I straightened my hair for the first time in four months. Hashtag nobody cares.

So now here is a story. I´ve been waiting for something weird to happen to me lately, because I feel like I had a nice break from these types of events, and so I did. This past week we were visiting an older couple. We were talking to the wife, everything was fine, she´s super cute, fed us, the whole shabang, and then her husband comes out… yikes. He was kind of scary looking I can´t lie, I was already a little freaked out. He walks in, and just blank stares at my face. ¨Hola Hermano!¨ Nothing. Aca-awkward. He sits down and is just starting at me. Then proceeds to say that I am a muñeca. A muñeca is a doll. He kept saying it over and over, ¨She is a doll. You look like a doll. You are so pretty. You are like a doll.¨ Thaaaank you. So eventually he leaves the room and I could breath again! Everything was fine, but then he comes back in… with a creepy creep china doll. He slams it on the table infront of me. ¨THIS IS YOU.¨ WHOA there buddy. Yikes! I look at this doll… still having nightmares about it. If that is really what I look like I am sorry to the world and to the people who have had nightmares about me! Oh man, I felt so uncomfortable.

 

On a happy note I found dino nuggets! Por fin! 

Hope you all make goals and keep them for this new year! Love you all and wish you the best! Adios!

Hermana P”

This girl and her fast food…. I don’t know what that is all about…..

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESShe is learning all kinds of great things about life in general.  Last Sunday at our church here in Vegas, they asked the moms of missionaries to give a report on how their missionaries are doing.  I told some of the funny things that are happening in her life and some of the great blessings she is receiving.  But when I was thinking about what to say, the thought kept coming to my mind of what a blessing it is for us (her family) to have a missionary out.  I am continually comforted and calmed by the spirit whenever my mind starts to race about scary things.  The peaceful feeling is so strong I know it is not just me.  It is the Spirit of God that brings me back to a functioning state.  I am so grateful for the gospel of Jesus Christ in my life.  When she talks about the atonement of the Savior being real in her life, I look back at the experiences I have had in my life: the hard ones and the joyful ones and I see the blessings of the atonement.  The layers of appreciation I feel for my Savior just keep growing and growing each year of my life.  I am so grateful that Tori is able to have this intense experience so early in her life.  If you are feeling like something is missing in your life, I would encourage you to call the missionaries in your area and let them share the message of the Gospel of Jesus Christ with you.  Allow the atonement to be an influence in your life’s experience.  If you need to know how to reach them, just leave a comment, I will help you figure it out.

Momma P.

 

3 thoughts on “2014

  1. Becky Bunker

    Love you Tor! So proud of you! Had no idea there could be a Latina that is my twin! I apparently have a Canadian twin named Jrnnie, so I have North America covered!

    Reply
  2. jokoegler

    Oh tori! Just love this cute little china doll! PS you don’t look like a creepy china doll! I love hearing all about your experiences. Can you feel Jessie near you? She’s there! Made it today Monday. I love the sweet spirit I feel as I read your letters! Love ya, auntie Jo

    Reply
  3. Adair

    Hi Tori i love your quote about the trails bring you more understanding and making you stronger i know that since being diagnosed with cancer my life has changed I’m more spiritual and what little pleasures come my way give me greater happiness. your stories bring great joy into my life at a time when I need it most Love you Adair

    Reply

Leave a Reply

