The Love

“Hello lovely people! So I hit five months yesterday… where has time gone?! But seriously! I will forever feel like I just left yesterday. It’s insane the number of experiences I have had in the amount of time I have been out! #ILoveTheMission

I am so sorry but I only have like five minutes to write today. My camera deleted my photos as I was downloading them, and I was trying to figure that out which led to wasting my time. So ya. Haha! All is well. Anyways, so let me give a quick update! 

So being that this past week was Valentine’s Day I thought this email should obviously be all about the love! 

As being a missionary the first thing we teach people is that God is our loving Heavenly Father. That’s something everyone needs to know and understand, that God lives and loves each and everyone of us. I want to share a scripture from the Bible.

1 John 4: 7-11

That’s just 7 to 11, but you should definitely keep reading to the end of that chapter, so good. So here we can see the importance for us to love one another! The world is… well, the world. All the more reason that everyone needs to add God and Christ to their lives. I know I have felt the love of God when I am loving others. For example, service, especially missionary work helps me feel the love. Through service we can see and feel of God’s love. Putting others before ourselves and recognizing what really is important in this life. There are lots of ways to add the love of God ito our lives. We just need to act.

I testify that God lives and loves us. God is our loving Heavenly Father, a God of flesh and bones like us, we were created in His image. He sent His son, Jesus Christ, into the world so that through Him we can return to live with our Father in Heaven again. No greater love than that. To close my thoughts I want to share one of my favorite quotes ever. 

“Compared to God, man is nothing; yet we are everything to God.” – Dieter F. Uchtdorf

No greater love people. #LoveIt

So I have to just a little time to squeeze in some stories too. #ToriStoryTime

So CRAZY experience this past Sunday. This past week we found this incredible family! Incredible! A mom and six kids .This woman is one of the strongest ladies I know. Amazing lady. Anyways, so this past Sunday was her first time at church. We were in Sunday School class and I could tell she felt a little awkward and nervous, but she started to warm up. We were talking about prayer. She shared the story of how one of her children almost died. This child was under her home and the house collapsed on him. In that moment when she saw her house collapse the first thing that she thought to do was pray. Her neighbors were holding her, but she said, “No, leave me be. I need to talk with the Lord.” So some man came and helped, but she never knew who did because she left to pray. So as she was sharing that story another investigator that was there (his first time at church too) started crying. “Excuse me… I was that man.” The Spirit was incredibly strong. The man who saved her child’s life was in that room. This was both their first time at church. Like insane. That event happened years ago. INSANE. He told the story from his side, and how he felt impressed to walk over to her house while he was at the store across the street, and right when he did the house collapsed. He ran over got under the house and the child gripped his arm and said, don’t let go. He has scars on his arms from it. After he helped get them to the hospital, he didn’t go on the news to say he did it.  He played the good Samaritan. It all paid off in the end. Like, I can’t even handle it. Needless to say they both loved church and are coming back. Haha! #MiraclesInTheMission

And all the goofy stories all tie in with Sister Price lately. Poor girl, she has had some interesting luck. Haha! Like last night we were teaching this lady and all of a sudden Sister Price felt something fall on her lap. It was poop. Did you know geckos pooped? Ya, no not us. The gecko on the celing definitely pooped on Sister Price. And later a dog peed on her backpack when she wasn’t looking.  #LoveMyCompanion

Someone told me they thought I was 14 years old.  Someone else thought 8 as well. #8not18

Some guy threated to cut off my eyelashes because he thinks they are fake. 

While waiting at the doctors this week I saw some Califonia news. This included a segment about Highland games and I saw Kaylee Finnegan. #IKnowHer #SmallWorld

I announced to a group of people that as missionaries we can speak fluent English and Chinese. #Awks

Poor Sister Price put ear drops in her eyes on accident too. #LoveMyComp

And one more, helped with a wedding this week. Super fun… would have had pictures but ya. #SadFace

Love you all, thanks for all the emails! Shoutout to everyone getting engaged right now (cough cough three of my best friends, Elle, Shalee, and Chloe). I am so happy for you people!!! Insanely! #SpringFever #RingBySpring #YayMarriage

Again, love you all. Talk to you next week!

Tor”

 

Hello everyone, I haven’t commented on Tori’s letters over the last few weeks, because I just didn’t anything more to add, but I did have a few questions for her after her last two posts….  This week I sent her this:  Was that experience on the bus the one that you referenced last week, or does this happen all the time? #mommastryingnottofreakout

Her answer was:  #totesanotherexperience #happensallthetime #alliswell #lordisonmyside

Okay #mommastilltryingnottofreakout.

And now, I am going to need to know why she was at the doctors office.  Glad she got to see Highland Dancing news, but wondering why she failed to mention the reason she was there in the first place.

So all of that being said, I do pray for Tori all the time.  Like all the time.  She is on my mind and I just am constantly praying for her physical safety and success.   I am also praying for the spiritual safety and success of my teenage boys.  I feel like the world they live in is kind of spiritually sketchy right now.  I know that the protection is available to them as well.  I reread a great conference talk this week from Elder David E Bednar.  It is listed on this page with some other great talks about how successful families are built around several values, one of which is love. 

Have a great week!

 

Momma P

7 thoughts on “The Love

  1. Tina Whitehead

    We had a similar experience last week with Megan when she talking about being at the hospital and how it was like American hospitals but not saying why she was there. I spend Mondays watching my email almost constantly so I was able to send a quick reply and ask her about it, which she then responded that her companion was sick. Amazing how they don’t think that we will want to know why!

    Reply
  2. JoAnn Whitehead

    Tori, I look forward to reading your e-mails. The Lord is providing you with some awesome experiences that are strengthening your testimony. Thank you so much for being diligent in sharing your mission with everyone. Keep up the good work and look forward to seeing you on your return. Please keep sharing. Love you Aunt JoAnn

    Reply
  3. Adair

    Hi Tori I missed a couple of weeks of your posts I was busy healing. I know what you mean about love. I had a healing experience that brought me the most incredible unconditional love it was amazing. Since then I’ve had two experience where that unconditional love has helped someone else. I’d love to tell you about it sometime. My prayers and good wishes are with you. LA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

