Treat u haat 2 da faya hawt

“Hello peeps! So happy to be here again, emailing, all is well. #Yay!

I wanted to start off with my thought before the stories this week, because as always I had some weird insane experience. I am sure you will love it! #BestForLast

“If we could look into each others hearts and understand the unique challenges each of us faces, I think we would treat each other much more gently, with more love, patience, tolerance, and care.” Marvin J. Ashton

Don’t you just love that? It’s a quote I hold near and dear to my heart. Because everyone can apply it. This week I wanted to talk about how to apply it, stress the importance of loving others, and I want you all to know that you are of great importance.

Before the mission I realized everyone had problems. We all do, even me. But it wasn’t until the mission I really dove deeper into that idea. I realize it with more detail now, because on a daily basis I deal with people’s problems. 

It hit me once in El Salvador when I was sitting on a bus. I put together that I knew a good majority of people on the bus. I thought about each of them as I sat there. One of these people included a son of a woman I had met earlier that month. She was extremely sick and could not leave her bed. No one knew when it happened, and no one came to visit her. She had been this way for like a whole year. As missionaries, we were some of the first to visit her. She had felt so alone and forgotten. And the son on the bus had to work to take care of her and himself. He was so stressed and concerned about what to do. Another person, the lady I was sitting by, was a lady I had talked to just a week before. As I talked with her I found out the anniversary husband’s of death was just that past week and she was all alone and didn’t have family near by. And another lady on the bus was a woman I knew was going through an extremely messy divorce. 

It hit me that day that I would never have known these things if I didn’t put the effort out to just listen. To really have a genuine love for each of them. It gave me more of perspective, that yes, we are all fighting a hard battle.

So this message is to all, “I assure you your Heavenly Father is mindful of the challenges we face. He loves each of us and desires to bless us and to help us.” Thomas S. Monson. Know that we really are not alone. At times it may seem that way, but we aren’t. Rely on, trust in, and pray to the Lord. 

Please be someone who nurtures and builds, loves and cares, understands and forgives, and always looks for the best in others. Please remember again, you are not alone. God has not and will not forget you. Remember you are great in the eyes of God. Through our trials we can gain strength from Him. 

St. John 16:33 says “These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.”

 
Love that scripture, it applies perfectly. He knows what you are going through, He loves us, and wants us to have peace in our lives. Remember everyone is fighting a hard battle. Everything happens for a reason. And sometimes we can’t see it in the moment, why we have to go through all the things we do, but the Lord knows best. Trust in him, he has a plan. 

And to finish this thought I want to share a quote from one of my favorite movies, “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” #TheHelp #AibleenClark

Love you all! You is important!

So the stories. Oh yes.
 

So we will start with why the caption is the caption it is. Here is Belize there are a lot of different languages. Spanish, English, Spanglish, Kriol, and Chinese. Probably more. But those are the main. Oh ya, some Mayan language too. Anyways, for some reason I have had a weird thing with Kriol. It’s a broken, fast, weird, thick, English based language. And since the first day I have been able to understand it. There’s a guy in the ward who speaks it so thick and fast. We were heading over for lunch and the sisters said, “I’ve been here for months and I still can’t understand him, so no worries if you can’t say anything!” We walked in sat down, and I began to talk to him. He and I were the only ones talking that lunch. Everyone was so impressed! After they were like, “what was he saying?!” Haha! I have no idea why it has been so natural for me, but it has. A member the other night mentioned, how weird it was that I was able to understand it. So that’s been cool. It’s helped us a lot to talk to people. I love Kriol, it cracks me up. So there’s a place we sometimes eat at and on their door it says, “Treat u hawt 2 da faya hawt.” Now you get an idea of what Kriol is like. Like ghetto text language or something. Haha! I have had so much fun learning sayings. To ask for the time you say, “How much a clock?” So now onto the next story, going along with the term “faya”! #Fire. 

 

Image
 

 
This past week the other sister’s had a baptism. The font takes about two hours to fill and they realized about an hour before the baptism they hadn’t started filling it up! So they called us to help! We biked over and took every bucket we could to try to fill it up. I mean I was using two plastic cups even! Just anything to help fill it up before people got there. Then the Sisters were freaking out because it was just not going to cut it. They told me to think of something. Now if you know me I have weird ideas. Like if you ask me what you we should do on a Saturday night I am going to say something like paint twister, McDonalds at 2 in the morning, or wear our swimsuits in the snow. #It’sHappenedBefore. So my first thought was, “Firetruck.” Oh yes.

 
Image
 

 
Turns out Price and I actually know a guy in the department. Called him up, got the firetruck over, and BAM! Filled just in time. My weird crazy idea worked! Haha! This cute picture is the picture of the girl who got baptized and our friend in the department. So fun! Her dress matched the hose and all! It was awesome!! And that baptism was incredible. I gave a talk and the sisters and I put together a special number. The Spirit was so strong. The girl who got baptized… incredible girl. Definitely someone who has strengthened my testimony by a mile!

Image

What a crazy story right?

Here are some shorter ones,

Someone thought we said, “We are missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ of the United States.” Nope. #Latter-DaySaints

We had changes! And thank goodness, my prayers were answered. Price and I are together another change (six weeks) in Orange Walk 2! #SoHappy

Someone said I look like I would be a person from Tennessee. 

Also got the comment I looked like I was 15.

Bought some tamales, there was thick bristly hair on the meat. #BarfingJustALittle

Had a Youth Camp Fire fireside, Sister Price and I had to like teach them how to roast marshmallows, make a fire right. All foreign concepts to them. Haha!

Watched a little part of the youth broadcast. It was at BYU-Idaho, made me just a little a lot homesick for college and friends. #Spring2015

One night we were putting on mosquito spray on at around 8 at night, these kids were like, “Sunblock?” #AreWeReallyThatWhite #It’sPitchBlackOutside

Watch tan line is coming in nicely.  #stillthewhitestgirlaroundImage
 
 

A girl in the ward told me when I went over there to visit her that her brother thought I was beautiful. I could’ve sworn she said he was 8 years old. So I was like, “Aww, that’s so sweet.” Till he came the next Sunday… definitely 18. Hahaha! #Yikes

Some lady came running out of her house to us screaming she just inhaled vinegar acid… She was definitely on something! She had us run under a tree for shade with her and told us some weird story. #LoveIt

Love you all, have a fabulous week! Remember you is important!

Sista Pat”

 

 

Leave a Reply

