#BeHumble

“I drank seaweed juice this week…. wish I could say April Fools! But I definitely did drink seaweed juice/ slime this week. #FunFoodsOfBelize. 
And being April 1st, happy anniversary to Tammy and Deon Bennett! 

Hello everybody! Well GOOD news! We had three baptisms this week!! Norma (the lady who had the crazy experience in Sunday School a couple emails back), Melissa (the daughter of Norma), and Mr. Shangai (my favorite Belizean old man). These people mean so much to me and it made me the happiest ever to see them take that step! Just my heart is so, so happy. They have each strengthened my testimony in different ways. Norma has taught me what it means to have nothing but unwavering faith in the Lord; for her to take the step of baptism she realized that baptism was truly the desire of her heart. Melissa is the perfect example of innocence and a heart that loves to do what’s best. She quit her job a couple weeks ago because she didn’t like how they sold alcohol there, she made that decision all on her own! #ProudOfHer. And Mr. Shangai, what a crack up. I love witty old men. He is a genius when it comes to history and the gospel of Jesus Christ. He loves to learn and read and has a solid testimony that the Church really is the Church Christ established. And this Sunday all three of them as well as Yamil and Elizabeth were confirmed. Elizabeth and Yamil were baptized too, last week, and to me their examples of their desires to give the children the best and to live happier lives, is just amazing. They are changed people, all of them!  So happy to be a missionary! This is true happiness!

Image
 

Women’s conference was aka the best hour and a half of my life. If you didn’t see it, watch it. I cried… sobbed the entire time… it was BEAUTIFUL. #I’mTurningIntoMyMother #SpiritualThingsMakeMeCry #WomensConference2014 

Sister Price hit her nine months! #CanYouMeetMeHalfway

When I told Mr. Shangai I went to a school in the state of Idaho he thought that was the funniest word ever and kept repeating it. “Idaho… Idaho… Idaho…” Haha! #Idaho. Also I feel like this may only be funny to me and Sister Price, but he has a saying he likes to say all the time, “You got it!” And right after he was baptized he said, “You got it!” Haha! 
Image
 
Some kids we know call us “Diocitas” which translates to little girl Gods. #Creepy

Just wanted to share there is a street in our area called, “Cindarella Street”. #LoveThatSpelling

At night I can actually see the stars (#IGrewUpInTheCity) and the Big Dipper here is seriously big! #Crazy
So, my heart was touched this week by three different experiences I had and each revolve around little children.

My first experience was on a bus ride home from Corozal last week. There was a cute little girl sitting in front two of the Elders (male missionaries). They were reading their scriptures and this little girl watched them read the whole bus ride. Later one of the Elders gave her a little card with a picture of Jesus on it. She looked at it, her face lit up, she put it to her chest, and hugged it. She was so grateful!

Image

The next was with my little best friend L. We had just had a tough day, we were feeling really down, and we were just walking our bikes down the street figuring out what to do next, when she spotted us out her window. She quickly ran down the stairs of her home yelling, “Missionaries! Missionaries!” She ran straight into my arms and gave me a big hug. She told us about her day, sang a little song, and told us how much she loves Sister Price and Sister Patterson. Then blew kisses at us as we biked away. #TheCutestLittleGirlEver

Image

The next was with my friend K. Earlier this week he got his foot stuck in a bike tire and it was super super bad. We had the feeling one night to go visit him. When we went over there they had just taken off the cast… so bad. His leg was infected and the doc didn’t even clean out the dirt, and told them to only clean it with alcohol! They needed to get the dirty stuff off and clean his foot with purified water and soap! It became a quick team process to pull it off. Ohh, the poor baby. I was in charge of hugging and holding him while he cried. The Elders came over to give him a blessing. They asked, “K, do you have the faith that Heavenly Father can help heal your foot?” His sweet teary filled eyes looked up and he nodded his head up and down, then quickly closed his eyes for the prayer. Sweet, sweet boy.

Image

All of these experiences just melted my heart. And it reminded me of a very important principle Christ once taught. We can read about in the Bible, Matthew 18: 1-4.  

“At the same time came the disciples unto Jesus, saying, Who is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven?

And Jesus called a little child unto him, and set him in the midst of them,

And said, Verily I say unto you, Except ye be converted, and become as little children, ye shall not enter into the kingdom of heaven. 

Whosoever therefore shall humble himself as this little child, the same is greatest in the kingdom of heaven.”

 

I love the principle of humbling ourselves as little children. Just in these three experiences I had this week I saw humility. The little girl on the bus was so grateful for the picture of Jesus. L went out of her way to make us feel loved. And K’s faith that God can would heal him, was such an innocent and pure hope. All of these experiences came from sweet humble little hearts.

Are we striving everyday to be humble as a little child? As we grow up our hearts are toughened, hardened, and steered away from Christ. We may make things more complicated then they should be, forget the simple pleasures in life, and maybe we don’t do the simple things we are told to do like praying, reading our scriptures, going to church, and serving others. By this, we become the natural man or in other words a man of the world. We can read about the natural man in Mosiah 3:19.

 
“For the natural man is an enemy to God, and has been from the fall of Adam, and will be, forever and ever, unless he yields to the enticings of the Holy Spirit, and putteth off the natural man and becometh a saint through the atonement of Christ the Lord, and becometh as a child, submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit to inflict upon him, even as a child doth submit to his father.”
 
And there you have it. It all ties back in with we need to humble ourselves.

I want to encourage you all to strive to put off the natural man, and strive to be as a child, “…submissive, meek, humble, patient, full of love, [and] willing to submit to all things which the Lord seeth fit…” I know by doing so you will be blessed. 

I want to also share this quote, “Being humble means recognizing that we are not on this earth to see how important we can become, but to see how much difference we can make in the lives of others.” – Gordon B. Hinckley. #SoTakeASliceOfHumblePie

#BeHumble.

Love, Tor”

 
Hello Everyone,
I think it is so interesting that she mentions that she cries during spiritual things now.  She used to mock me whenever tears would stream down my face during conference, testimony meetings, my favorite hymns, etc.  So on Saturday night, I went to the Women’s Conference Broadcast.  There were tears.  A sweet sister in our stake who I admire so much, who has a son and a daughter serving missions right now leaned over to me and said, I think I know what you are feeling.  I know she did too.  How can you not be touched by the spirit when you hear all those sisters singing “I am a child of God” in all those different languages and then they showed some sister missionaries?  It was a fantastic meeting.  In my email to Tori this week, I asked her if she had seen it because I wasn’t sure if she would have had access to it live or not.  I told her by the time that rolls around next March, we will be able to go to it together.  It is crazy to think how fast her time seems to be going.  
 
Have a great week, 
 
Momma P
2 thoughts on “#BeHumble

  1. Cheryl

    What sweet stories. And I love that she adds pictures. I’m telling you that girl will have a career in blogging! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

