The Refiner’s Fire

“Hey hey everybody!

So wow. What a week. It’s been a little more then crazy.

Bike probs after bike probs. #MyLife. First off one of my belts got stuck in the chain… tore it to shreds.

20140416-232228.jpg

Then my back fender went forward and got under my wheel, leaving my bike tire completely spinning out of control because I was on the metal. Some how… SOME how I did not fall or get hurt, I was going so fast too! And right beside me was a busy road, but I survived. #AngelsWatchingOverMe #ImmaSurvivor.

DSCN0086

Sunsets are my absolute favorite thing here. I live in a beautiful place.

20140416-231756.jpg

Sister Price cut my hair. The sun has fried it and it was getting freakishly long. #ILoveItNow #ThatIsCompanionshipTrust

DSCN0051

And I realized my best, Elle Stott, will definitely be Elle Lovato the next time I write home… Love you Elle and wish you the best! #YouAreIncredible.

We had a multi zone meeting in Belize City, so I got to see Hermana Ontiveros, Hermana Chant, and Hermana Hirschi! I was crying once I saw them. #TearsOfJoy. I can only imagine when I get off that plane into the Vegas airport. #MomSaveCoupons #StartBuyingKleenexNow.

RSCN0095

DSCN0076

DSCN0078

 

We had changes this week. Some BIG changes. Out of the 30 companionship’s in Belize, only 5 did not have changes. So yes Price and I are apart. That has definitely been rough, she is one of my best friends and has been so awesome. SO awesome! But she is still in my zone, she is in Corozal so I get to see her once a week. #SweetAndTenderMercy. And they “white washed” the other sisters in Orange Walk, meaning both were taken out and meaning I am the only Orange Walk sister remaining… #WaitWhat.

So I have a new companion and I’m the girl in charge of knowing everything. Ya, hi my name is Sister Patt and I can get you to the nearest taco stand… Oh man, it’s put a lot of stress on me. So this week the saying, “STRESSED spelled backwards is DESSERTS” has applied so wonderfully.

But really, the beauty of it is the Lord will only give us what He knows we can handle. So I know even if this will be way beyond my comfort zone, the Lord wants me to grow and expand my horizons. I will definitely learn a lot about leadership and truly relying on the Lord.

So my new companion is just the cutest! Sister Gramajo from Guatemala! #ILoveGuatemalans. She has about a year in the mission. And she is the Sister Training Leader! So that’s even a little more stress to add, but it’s awesome! We will be on a lot of interchanges with the other sisters and such, so what I did with Sister Lay but two times a week or so. She reminds me so, so much of my best friend Inna. Her humor and cute accent. So that just makes me smile. #IMissInna. We are going to have fun!

At this past Multi-zone meeting President talked about The Refiner’s Fire. And I have studied it a lot this week. The refiner’s fire is when they put metal into a hot, hot fire furnace. When the metal is heated, the impurities are burnt off and the purified metal has much more value and use.

So can I just say, I feel like I have just jumped into the oven?

Haha! Even if it feels like that, I am excited to know that I will grow from it. It’s not going to be easy, but it’s worth it!

I love these scriptures:

Isaiah 48:10
Behold, I have refined thee, but not with silver; I have chosen thee in the furnace of affliction.

Job 23:10
But he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold.

It applies to all of us, this Refiner’s Fire. We all have our trials and afflictions (“furnace of affliction”), but through the refining process we will “come forth as gold”. I testify the Lord only gives us what He knows we can take and knows what will benefit us. What a blessing it is to have a Father in Heaven who loves each and everyone of us and wants us to reach our highest potential; potential we sometimes didn’t even think we could reach. I know our hard times, our refining process, will help us to one day see our Father in Heaven again. It’s the price we pay to really do our best and always trust in Him. I am so grateful for Him. I am so grateful for my mission. I am so grateful for the challenges I face. And I am so grateful to have the restored gospel in my life.

Love you all and wish you the best! Please push forward, don’t give up. Trust in rely on our God Almighty. I know you can do it with His help.

Sister Patterson”

3 thoughts on “The Refiner’s Fire

  1. Adair patterson

    Hi Tori I love your post and I really loved the post card there is one coming back to you.I’ve had my trails too this week and I’m working on the idea of the refined metal and this will make me strong and better. Life throw us alot of curves and with love and kindness we can see our way through. take care Love Aunt Adair

    Reply
  2. Brian Burton

    The Refiner’s Fire Story

    Some time ago, a few ladies met in a certain city to
    read the scriptures and make them the subject of
    conversation. While reading the third chapter of
    Malachi they came upon a remarkable expression
    in the third verse.
    “And He shall sit as a refiner and purifier of silver.”

    One lady’s opinion was that it was intended to
    convey the view of the sanctifying influence of the
    grace of Christ. Then she proposed to visit a
    silversmith and report to them what he said
    on the subject. She went accordingly and without
    telling the object of her errand, begged to know the
    process of refining silver, which he fully described
    to her.

    “But Sir,” she said, “do you sit while the work of
    refining is going on?” “Oh, yes madam, ” replied
    the silversmith, “I must sit with my eye steadily fixed
    on the furnace, for if the time necessary for refining
    be exceeded in the slightest degree, the silver
    will be injured.”

    The lady at once saw the beauty, and comfort
    too, of the expression,

    “He shall sit as a refiner and purifier
    of silver.”

    Christ sees it needful to put His children into a
    furnace. His eye is steadily intent on the work of
    purifying, and His wisdom and love are both engaged
    in the best manner for them. Their trials do not come
    at random; “the very hairs of your head are
    all numbered.”

    As the lady was leaving the shop, the silversmith
    called her back, and said he had still further to
    mention, that he only knows when the process of
    purifying was complete, by seeing his own image
    reflected in the silver.

    Beautiful example! When Christ shall see His own
    image in His people, His work of purifying will
    be accomplished.

    Author Unknown

    Reply

Leave a Reply

