5000 Miles

“Email, email, email, I love emails. Thank you to all who emailed me this week, seriously means a lot. I don’t necessarily always have time to write back, but know I read them and love them a lot. Gives me a little piece of home in my heart. And Joyce you are home from the mish! You’re amazing!! #FifthRemovedCousin

So okay, best week ever. It just only gets better. We had changes this past week and… SISTER G AND I ARE TOGETHER AGAIN. #AnotherSixWeeksInOW #Fuego.

Image

Shoutout to my two cute brothers Cam and Jay. Their birthdays have been in these past two weeks. I am so grateful for them in my lives, they mean the world to me. And I can’t wait to see them again. I am sure they will both be double my height when I come home. #PS #HopeYouGetYourBirthdayPackageSOON.

Said goodbye to Elder Reynolds at our last multi-zone, he’s on his way home to Las Vegas this week. He was an incredible influence on this mission that’s for sure. #Represent #LV

We had the wedding and baptisms on Friday. Oh yes. How am I so lucky to be apart of this?! Tell me! 

So Sister G and I decorated the place up purple because Marvea loves purple. Turned out super cute and sweet!! They are such a cute couple! I love them both a lot. 

Image
Image
ImageImage
And then the baptism of Miguel, Gloria, and David was that night. Wow. Powerful. To see Miguel’s eyes full of tears and saying, “Estoy muy agradecida porque ustedes vinieron.” Like, this is the joy of the mission that moment. Powerful. They are just my favorites. This whole family. Ahhhhhhhhh! God prepared them so well, you just don’t even understand. They are golden. I love them and they are my family here. #LoveLoveLove
Image

Mr. Shangai is the sweetest, he leaves us mangoes in our bike baskets after church. #MakesMyDay.

Sister G and I planned a futbol tournament on Saturday. Team missionary didn’t get too far in the tourney… maybe because I was put as goalie. #Don’tHurtMe.

ImageImage
Image
Image

It rained a lot this week, we are approaching the rainy season. #Mud

ImageImage

And can I just say, I love the Corozal beach. We ate at a cute little place called the Rainbow Restaurant right on the beach.  #Paradise

Image
Image
Image

So I really want to get into my spiritual thought that was inspired by President Hintze, my mission president. We had a multi-zone this past week on the roads of life. And I really was touched by the story in the Bible, The Road to Emmaus. It’s in Luke 24: 13-32. And I love a little poem form Steevun Lemon and the painting from Liz Lemon Swindle.

Image
Here it is:THE ROAD TO EMMAUS
by Steevun Lemon

The Lord was gone, His body lay
Inside the captive tomb.
And those who followed Him in life
Now felt the awful gloom.
Yet, two would walk the dusty road to
Emmaus on that day.
These were His friends, those whom He loved
Who talked along the way.
“He was the Son of God,” one said
“How could He now be gone?”
“It seems our sorrow is too great
To hope to see the dawn.”
And as they walked a stranger came
He listened as they spoke.
He saw their tears and heard their cries
And then His silence broke.
“But wasn’t this the plan,” he asked,
“That Jesus come and die?
His sacrifice will save us all,
The prophets testify.”
And so they walked into the night
And listened to Him speak
Of promised resurrection and
Of heaven for the meek.
And as night fell, they stopped to eat
This tiny little band.
And when He broke the bread they saw
The nail marks in His hands.
Too often we are like those two
Who walked along the road.
We think that we are all alone
With none to share the load.
We do not see our loving friend
Beside us on our way.
Carrying us through life’s dark nights
Into a brighter day.
So as we walk our own roads to
Emmaus may we see.
That we will never be alone
Unless we choose to be.

“What we think of as patience may actually be perspective. The ability to see things as they really are gives us the courage to wait upon the Lord even when life takes unexpected turns. The story of the road to Emmaus illustrates this principle beautifully.

Three days after the Savior’s death, two of His disciples walked the dusty road from Jerusalem to Emmaus. As they spoke, they were joined by a traveler who asked about their conversation. The disciples replied, “Art thou only a stranger in Jerusalem…they have crucified [Jesus]. But we trusted that it had been he which should have redeemed Israel.”
Then the stranger said, “Ought not Christ to have suffered these things, and to enter into his glory?” He then quoted the scriptures to them, showing how all of the prophets had testified that Christ would be crucified and rise on the third day. As night fell the disciples asked the traveler to join them for a meal. Sitting together the stranger, “…took bread, and blessed it, and brake it, and gave to them. And their eyes were opened, and they knew…[it was Jesus].” – Luke 24:17-32

We are often like the disciples. We let the worries of the day keep us from recognizing that the Savior is walking alongside us. We are quick to treat our trials as curses, instead of trusting that with God’s perspective our “curses” may actually be blessings. May we be more willing to wait upon the Lord, and may we see things as they really are as we walk our own roads to Emmaus.”

Is that not beautiful? I love that story and just the beauty that He is ALWAYS there, He will never leave us. He loves us. I just love that all. So don’t forget it, you are not alone. 

And President Hintze also talked about our journey as missionaries. He shared the story of John Stephen Akhwari.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nlfMogR7ZnI

And I absolutely loved the quote, “My country did not send me 5,000 miles to start the race; they sent me 5,000 miles to finish the race.”

Talk about BOOM. That just hit me, I am here in Belize not to just start the race, but to finish. Finish strong even when it’s hard. Even when my bike breaks every five minutes, or I get bugs in my eyes, or when my hands get an awkward bike tan line, when I am served mystery meat in my chow mein. I keep going. I try and try again, I never quit. I, Tori Patterson am not a quitter, I never have been. And this mission has definitely been the hardest thing I’ve done in my life, but it easily the best thing I have ever done with my life. And at the end of my misison I want to be able to say the following, 2 Timothy 4:7, “I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith.”

RSCN0651

Ahh, God lives. Can’t express that enough. And lastly I want to share another video I love. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8nczw6xHJ0I

When life seems hard, when you are looking to giving up. Don’t, you quit, you keep walking.” Don’t you turn back, the Lord is on your side. He loves you. He wants to help you, He knows you can do it. So don’t you dare give up. “Some blessings come soon. Some come late. And some don’t come till Heaven, but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.” Embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ. That’s what I have done and I am blessed. I am blessed. What can I say more? #Grateful.

Love you all,

Tori.”

One thought on “5000 Miles

  1. Adair

    Hi Tori You are my inspiration and I got your post card this week it was so great to see it. Garry and I get married this weekend after 21 years together. Tomorrow we have the service in my friends garden and then on sunday my step daughter Lee is hosting our reception in her home. Most of Garry’s family will be present but mine are so far away and so busy it will be my friends that will be present.
    In the last couple of months i’ve decided to look at cancer from a different place not as my adversary but as my friend who I have hurt and who is struggling to be recognized and who just wants to be my friend again and wants to make me slow down and enjoy what is important in life family friends pets and the beauty of the world around me each day and each minute. I have conversations with the cancer and explain that if it becomes to aggressive both of us will die and what we need to do is live in harmony.
    Well I think it is working I’m feeling better the fluid in my lungs is coming down and accept for the fact I got the flu I’m doing pretty darn good. Love of god and love of self go a long way in life and pray makes life so much better. Deciding to stop seeing cancer as my enemy has really helped me in this my story and spending time at my cancer retreat when i stepped across the threshold of death made my life so much better and lighter . i send you all my love support and happiness take care Aunt Adair. XXXOOO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

