I love this work.

“Can I please begin with my extreme hatred for ants? Oh my gosh. Do ants even exist in Las Vegas? I don’t ever remember ants bothering me there. The only experience I remember with ants before the mish was when I was little, living in Georgia, and I stood in a fire ant colony and for some reason the procedure to cure the bites was to put toothpaste all over my legs… ya. But here… My goodness! My backpack this morning was invaded by a million of them, if I stand in the grass for more then two seconds my feet are covered with them, and even just right now, here sitting in the internet cyber and they are crawling all over me. They move fast and they travel in groups of about 50! AHHHH! #AntRant.
Anyways.
The work is progressing my goodness. 
I have felt so much love this week through this marvelous work. I hit nine months this past week and I hit that feeling or that moment where I looked back and said wow. Look at all that I have experienced so far. I feel so much love through the people here, Orange Walk is my home. I couldn’t imagine another area. I have been here for five months now! #LongTime. Just blessings on blessings. Yesterday our mission president came and his wife Sister Hintze came to talk at church. Oh man, I have the best mission presidents! They talked about how great the missionaries are here in Orange Walk and listed us of by name. And gave powerful, spiritual talks. I was sitting in the very front row of the chapel, the room was packed (160 people this week!! Normally we have around 100). I looked back and I saw my awesome comp Sister G, The C Family, the P family, etc, just everyone that we are working with there sitting in the church, and I just teared up. THIS is the work. THIS is why I am here. Here for these people, here for my Savior Jesus Christ, here for my family and friends. Here so that one day we can all return to live with Him again. I just love these people so, so much. Afterwards, many came up to me and gave me a hug and just said, “Thank you Sis.” #MeansTheWorld #ChangingLives. 

There’s a quote I really like by Louie Giglio, “God is using your present circumstances to make you more useful for later roles in his unfolding story.”

This obviously applies to everyone not just me here in the mission. We all have our own day to day lives and sometimes it becomes difficult. But I know that God has a plan, a plan of happiness. For each and everyone of us, one that will unfold one day and we will all be grateful we made it through. With faith, everything is possible. Through prayer we can receive that comfort, strength, and energy to keep moving forward. His grace is the light that leads us through the dark tunnel of life.

So this past week a few things happened. 

One, we found this creature in the bathroom. #AreYouPoisonous

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES 

Two, Sista G and I went to go get lunch one day, all was well, eating our salbutes, sun was shining. When all of a sudden the sky went dark, the wind blew fierce, and it begin to POUR! And some random lady yelled, “HURRICANE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” And then everyone was running around. Sister G and I looked at each other. We had no where to hide, no where to go, our phone wasn’t working to call (no worries got a new one yesterday)… and so we just sat there and ate our salbutes. Luckily it wasn’t actually a hurricane. I put a garbage bag over me for protection as you can see. #TheLife.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Three, it’s always a weird feeling and an exciting one when we don’t have to wear church clothes (dresses and skirts) and we get to wear pants.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Four, an HEFY group is staying here in Orange Walk. #IWasExcitedToMeetThem.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Five, Sister G and I’s best friends are from the age range from about 9 to 11.

DSCN0772 DSCN0786

Love you all thanks for being who you are. 

Tor”

2 thoughts on “I love this work.

  1. Adair

    Hi Tori Well I have experienced ants in my home here in Vancouver and it maybe not as bad as where you are. I have woken up to my bathroom floor covered in ants and my french door and curtains cover in flying ants and small ants so I do know a little of what your are experiencing. It is an on going spring/summer battle we have in our apartment. This year Garry has been very vigilant about using the bug killer and it seems to be working so far.
    Things are going well and I’m getting stronger and I’m able to walk further with our little Bella when we go out for a walk in the park. she is actually not so little anymore she is getting to be quite a large cat but we love and now there is more to love LOL
    Take care love you lots Adair

    Reply

Leave a Reply

