Toadily Twenty

“Well I am 20 now, and this week I will hit 10 months in the mission. I don’t know what sounds older. Hi I’m twenty years old or Hi I have ten months in the mish! Mission time flies! I can’t believe I will hit ten months this week.

I have been blessed this week, it was definitely a little more then depressing not being an Orange Walk for my birthday because there I had people who knew me and loved me, I had three promised dinners/birthday parties ready for me there… BUT it’s okay. I found I had a great birthday here too. It all started Friday night, birthday eve. Sister M and Sister P came home and mischievously went into their room, and they came out with a cute little box. Handmade paper box, so super cute and said, “HAPPY EARLY BIRTHDAY!” So this is all being recorded, mind you. So I’m so excited holding the box up to my face, super fun. I go to open it and there is another box inside, I open that… AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! They definitely put a live toad in the box!

DSCN1099

Hahahahahaaha! Best present ever! I was freaking out it was hilarious! I’ll have to get the video from Sister M, but I took a picture of the screen of her camera at one of my first reactions. I look terrified. #BecauseIWas.

DSCN1105

After I was holding him, taking selfies, and we let him hop around the house a little before we put him back in his habitat. Oh man, it was great. Then at midnight I woke up to a million balloons in my face slash pillows slash it was dark and I was in a deep sleep so I was so confused. Haha! #ThanksSistas. Then in the morning… oh my. I have turned into a sad person. I put a big chunk of peanut butter in a bowl, some chocolate syrup, double fudge icing, and oreos in a bowl and ate it. #Breakfast #NeedToGoGroceryShopping. Then my sweet, sweet district surprised me at the church with a beautiful cake one with huge blue icing flowers on it.

DSCN1108

I felt so loved, especially when one of the elders shoved a piece of it in my face. #HappyBirthdayToMe. For lunch Sister M and P bought me lunch and we ate it right on the coast,

DSCN1124

it was a delightfully windy lunch,

DSCN1116

and it was my fav, Belizean food. #HeavenInMyMouth.

DSCN1113

Then we had a normal working day! Then finished the night with my new favorite restaurant, Yoyo’s. Where I watched the moon just over the ocean and I drank my big mango smoothie. #MyLittleParadise.

DSCN1127

Definitely a birthday I won’t forget. Then the next day a sister in the branch was so sweet and for my birthday she corn row platted our hair. Dats right. I’m 20 now, so YOLO.

DSCN1129

Ya, Tori Patterson has corn rows, and will for the next week.

DSCN1137

So ya, life is good, life is great. Here are pics of the apartment. It’s open, fresh, and clean. Love it! And the color yellow has definitely grown on me, I love yellow! Such a happy color!

DSCN1080 DSCN1081 DSCN1082 DSCN1084 DSCN1085

I love going to the market by the way, fresh fruits just wow. I haven’t had fresh fruits/vegetables for months.

DSCN1089

And I have noticed when we go out to eat the first thing I eat on my plate is the salad. That normally would never make it on my fork. I got the package you sent mom, I LOVED it. First off did not expect a giant poster of me… Haha! The sisters insisted it went behind the kitchen table!

DSCN1095

The more I looked at it, the more I thought it was weird I was once a baby. #20. And the headbands, perfect, gracias. And the shirt… this is why you are my mother. #SpiritualGangster. And thanks mom, dad, cam, jay for the singing birthday cards, my fav.

It rained a lot this week. Sister J looked at me the other day with my yellow poncho and yellow bike helmet and said, “Well aren’t you just a ray of sunshine.” Hahaha! Here comes big bird down the street.

DSCN1091 DSCN1092

Oh my gosh, I have no pride anymore. It rained so hard last night at 2:37 in the morning to be exact, we got up and had to shut all our windows, we were going to be flooded in if we didn’t!

You know I was extremely humbled this past birthday. Because my day wasn’t necessarily all focused on me. And the people who showed their love to me are people I just barely met. I am just so blessed to even be living, to even be on the mission I am. I was very touched by it all really. And doing the Lord’s work on my birthday was a special treat as well. I love the scripture in Doctrine and Covenants 64:33 “Be not weary in well-doing, for ye are laying the foundation of a great work.” So true, just got to keep pushing even when I get exhausted, I only have eight more months, I need to soak in every second.

Love you all, thanks for the love, till next week,

Tor”

Leave a Reply

