Laundry Saves Lives

“Hello everyone, so I would like to announce, that we have continued to have un-invited guests in our home. This new guest had eight legs, fuzzy, and his name rhymes with PARANTULA!

The lil naaaasty.

So of course, who found him? Who do you think.

I was outside, barefoot, just putting out my wash I had just cleaned, to sun dry. La-de-da, I’m putting out my laundry, the neighbors were blasting Brave by Sara Barielles, life was good. Then I went and dumped my bucket full of laundry water over the edge. As I looked over the edge, I saw a little fuzzy creature dangling on the balcony. Ahhhh!

DSCN1326

Thank goodness I finally did my laundry, I’m pretty sure it saved my life!  If not for the water washing him off the balcony, this story could have ended with venomous bites and tragedy.  Tragedy for me that is.   

As it happened, the tragedy was only for him. Sister J knocked him down with a broom, and a cement brick and a quick macarana dance on top did the trick. Pancake. 

DSCN1329
 

Oh man, sorry for all you tarantula lovers, I just looked at the thing and saw fire coming out of it’s eyes. Stay far, far away. #aragog #shelob

Moral of the story, doing laundry saves lives. #notspiderlives

So EVERYONE beginning in April has said the phrase, “This is the hottest month ever…” April, May, June, July, now everyone is telling me August is even hotter. What the. And we have gotten some heavy rain lately, we are in hurricane season jumping into the rainy season. My body has just been craving to be in a cold place, lots of people have paintings in their homes of beautiful scenery of places like Canada or something. I just am constantly imagining myself in the frame… IT IS SO HOT. The other day it was like 80 degrees and I was in a CARDIGAN. I am so messed up. I get the shivers in 80 degrees! And on hot, hot days, I don’t even want the light on in our house, I feel like a lightbulb just creates even more heat. Haha! The minute I get to my house in Vegas, I am jumping in the pool.

So we had an awesome experience the other night. We found some incredible people we are working with right now. INCREDIBLE. And so the other night we had a powerful lesson with them and after the mom of the family told us how when we really pray sincerely and with full faith and trust in the Lord our prayers can be answered.  The other day she was really struggling about just about everything in her life. She was sitting on the couch praying, and she was crying and asking the Lord, “Please, show me that it’s all going to be okay.” That night J and I had the feeling to stop by, that wasn’t our next set appointment, but we went. This was when we had only talked to them like once before, so we didn’t really know them that well either. She said, “The minute I finished my prayer, I heard you girls yell, “GOODNIGHT!” outside my door. And I knew with you, it was all going to be okay.” Wow, that phrase, it’s all going to be okay, has applied in MORE ways than I could EVER imagine throughout my mission. With things in the mission, outside, between, you name it. I have really learned to trust in the Lord, that it really will all be okay. And to finish, a quote I love, from Thomas S. Monson,
 
“We were not placed on this earth to walk alone. What an amazing source of power, of strength, and of comfort is available to each of us. He who knows us better than we know ourselves, He who sees the larger picture and who knows the end from the beginning, has assured us that He will be there for us to provide help if we but ask. We have the promise: ‘Pray always, and be believing, and all things shall work together for your good.‘”
 
It’s all going to be okay with the Lord. Let the Lord be included in your life, it will bless you more then you know.

Love you all, have a great week. Miss you all lots, pray for you daily.

Tor”
3 thoughts on “Laundry Saves Lives

  1. Denise Sugden

    Thank you Tori, I needed to read that tonight. I will try harder to just have faith that it will all be okay. You are doing a super job of being a missionary, there and in the cyber world. Love ya Aunt Denise

    Reply
  2. Adair

    Hi Tori got your card it made my day. I went on a short holiday to the Sunshine coast of BC and it brought life back into my tried body. Bella went with us and she was the best behaved ani,al of all we met. She would go into home of other animals and just back away and as if to say this is your place I’ll be good. She never got into any fights and she loved her walks in the woods and car rides along the sea coast.
    I have the faith you speak of and I know God is with me and that each day is a new day to be seen as the best day ever.
    Love you lots. Adair

    Reply
  3. judyandritchie

    You are an inspiration to me Tori. I also know that the more we align our lives with Heavenly Father’s wishes that the better our lives will be. Love you lots! Glad you doused that creature with soapy wash water!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

