17 Miracles

“Being that this week we watched the movie 17 Miracles at movie night, I figured I would write out my 17 miracles for the week.

1. The people we are teaching right now are absolutely incredible. I have never had investigators so prepared. SO prepared to receive the gospel.

2. Our cute family we are teaching have changed so much! It’s amazing what the gospel can do to our lives. They are happier, feeling the spirit more, praying together, just wow. The dad of this family said no when offered a beer this week, first time in 7 years. And he has been nine days sober. They are HAPPY! #Favorites.

3. We found this incredible sweet, sweet old man. He is more then halfway through the Book of Mormon and it’s been less then a week. He made us hot chocolate and cookies yesterday because it was cold (maybe 80 degrees… we were wearing cardigans… times have changed). He lives by himself on a little hill. He is loving the gospel and soaking it all in. It honestly is him teaching us everytime. My goodness! 

3. Hunter and I made real food! This is the first comp where we actually sat down and planned out a meal. We bought a box of expired stuffing (#WelcomeToBelize), a gravy packet, and some Idaho packaged mashed potatoes (I miss Idaho!), and a liter of coke. We had a thanksgiving feast. And all the things we bought expired were alright! Again, #WelcomeToBelize. The majority of the food you buy here at the store is expired already. 

DSCN1496[1]

4. My comp had a bad fall this week. Her first bike crash, it was super bad. We rushed home. The miracle to this was the fact I stayed calm and just followed the spirit on what to do. Because honestly I usually don’t know what to do in these situations. Haha! I looked at the first aid kit and it just made me think of my Fisher Price doctor kit… I was lost. But we cleaned it up, neosporin and what not. The poor girl, it seems to be healing quite well! We are happy for that!! #PrayForHer.

5. We have got some good rain in! I love biking in the rain.

6. I was in charge of movie night and all went well! #NoTechnologyProbs.

7. We were heading out to Orange Walk for meetings when I got a call from Gloria Che! She was in Corozal! Once I told her I was on the bus about to leave, she hung up the phone saying, “ARRITA!” (RIGHT NOW!) And the next thing I know I see Gloria booking it down the road and getting on the bus. Haha! As well as Miguel and little Lexi! MADE MY DAY! A whole bus ride to catch up! I love them a lot!!!!!!!!!!!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

8. And we were late to the meetings (slow bus), so the Che’s drove us from the bus terminal to the church. #Blessing.

9. We will be having a baptism this Saturday! Our cute ten year old friend Franky! He is amazing! #GoodKid.

10. Once you have been in Belize for the time I have, you begin to be apart of the small world it is here. Where everyone knows everyone, and you know peoples aunts and uncles in Orange Walk/Corozal. I feel like my mom and how she seems to know just about everyone in Southern Alberta, Canada.

11. One of these days there was so much mud in our bikes our tires stopped moving. Like didn’t rotate anymore! So we pushed them around all day. The back wheel just fishtailing behind us. We went to a bike shop and it was closed. The next bike shop was at least an forty five minute walk. We stood there for a little bit figuring out what we would do. I said a little help us out prayer in my head. Then we picked up our bikes to get going… and they turned! It was a sweet and tender mercy. 

12. I got to wear a cardigan this week. And I am actually wearing one right now. #ILoveCardigans.

13. We have electricity.

14. Sister Hunter and I have gotten along so well, it’s not like a shocker. More of just a huge blessing. She just feels like one of my roommates from BYU-I. It is too much fun!

15. Going along with the whole making food thing, I bought groceries for the first time in a long time. I tend to be horrible at this. But for once I sort of planned out in my head and actually bought a good amount of food. #Yay.

16. I am where I am. The Lord knows me way too well. I know I am suppose to be here in Corozal at this time. #ManyMiracles.

17. And lastly, I have seen miracles through others by their prayers. Prayers work miracles. Especially when we are praying for others in their times of need. I love this quote by Richard G. Scott, “I offer some final thoughts for those who love a family member who is not making good choices. That can challenge our patience and endurance. We need to trust in the Lord and in His timing that a positive response to our prayers and rescue efforts can occur. We do all that we can to serve, to bless, and to submissively acknowledge God’s will in all things… With faith we can know that this straying loved one is not abandoned but is in the watch care of of a loving Savior. Recognize the good in others, not their stains.”

I love my mission. Miracles! I am blessed and I am so happy! About life, family, friends, Belize, everything! Please keep being awesome, make good choices, and remember I love you! Have a good week!

Sista Tor Tor.”

3 thoughts on “17 Miracles

  1. Tori McGinn

    Thank you Sister Tor Tor Hermana Patterson! You are an awesome missionary! I loved your 17 Miracles! We love you! Thanks for sharing and letting us share your mission with you! Love Bro and Sis McGinn

    Reply
  2. Janet Hunt

    You are ever amazing and an ever amazing missionary. What an emissary of the Lord you are. Love you so much,
    Janet Hunt Patterson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

