Come Unto Me, All Ye Who Are Heavy Laden

“Well let me start off with HAPPY BIRTHDAY to the one and only Kenzie Heyland! I love you!

Another week in the field. This amazing mission field. I have a total of FOURTEEN months on the mish as of today. Fourteen the big one four. Ya, it still does not feel like that, it never will. I am so grateful for just… everything on my mission. The people, my experiences, my growing as a person, Belize, everything. Love it.

DSCN2327
I’ll share a few funnies first… so after drinking milk this week, every time I just feel sick to my stomach, and I thought I was going lactose intolerant and what not… until just about two days ago, I thought, “Check the expiration.” Uhhuh, I have been drinking ten days expired milk this whole week. I am not a milk person, and so I always think milk smells nasty, so it was hard for me to tell the difference… Bleh.

Sorry if that made you gag a little.

Here’s another little story, we found a tarantula outside of our house, HUGE. Brought back memories of the one I found is Corozal and Ayutuxt. Hopefully that is the last one I will see in awhile. Thankfully, it was just crawling outside the house.

We found a cute El Salvadorean in our area who makes incredible pupusas. #Love

Dealt with a few drunk men this week. As usual. And one of them came up to me holding a Bible and said, “Are you a Christian?” “Yes, brother.” “Then buy this Bible from me.” “Brother I have my Bible right here. But thank you!” Then he got ticked and yelled for all to hear, “YOU’RE NOT A CHRISTIAN YOU’RE A DRUG DEALER!” Haha, yes, yes I am. The other drunk man informed me he has killed people before and that he loves Mississippi… uh.

This made me laugh, someone asked Sister Rodriguez, “You’re from Peru? I know a Miguel from Peru! Do you know my friend Miguel? I can’t remember his last name.” Uh. Her face was priceless. There are many Miguel’s in Peru she explained. 

Fun fact Miguel is Michael is English. So dad, your spanish name is Miguel!

There are cars that have microphones and they yell what they are selling in their car. Clothes, fruits, meat, etc. Well, Sister Rod and I passed by one of the trucks yelling, and as we passed by… in the microphone, the guy yells, “QUE BONITAS! QUES HERMOSAS! QUE GUAPAS! QUE CHULAS! AYE MUCHAHAS I LOVE YOU!” Hahaha, and all these other things, I mean people can hear these dude from miles around. We were dying laughing. What in the world!

Had a lot of spirit impressions this week, one was a sweet experience we had at the hospital. There is a less active sister that we visit, she’s in the hospital right now. As we were leaving I had the impression to turn around and ask everyone in that room if we could pray for them. And so we did. I mean, that is definitely out of my comfort zone, but to be an instrument in the Lord’s hand is what I am here for. Lots of smiles, they looked at us with such gratitude. And just seeing everyone in the condition they were just made me cry. I just felt the love of God inside me for them, and just wanted to make sure they knew that late friday night.

So I have had a lot of my mind this week, and prayer is the topic I wanted to talk about. Sometimes we pray for things and it just doesn’t turn out how we thought. 

“It is so hard when sincere prayer about something you desire very much is not answered the way you want. It is difficult to understand why your exercise of deep and sincere faith from an obedient life does not grant the desired result. The Savior taught, “Whatsoever ye ask the Father in my name it shall be given unto you, that is expedient for you.” At times it is difficult to recognize what is best or expedient for you over time. Your life will be easier when you accept that what God does in your life is for your eternal good.” Richard G. Scott.

My heart goes out to many at this time. I know many who have lost a loved one this past week. Myself included. And I just want to say, that God knows best… I testify. It is not easy, not easy at all… But He is our creator and He knows we can handle what we are given. He can give us the strength we need. He can lift our burdens, our doubts, our fears, everything. Through the atonement of Jesus Christ we can be healed. 

One experience we had this past week was related to this. A young man in tears shared how he felt that there is no longer hope, and he has so much guilt and burdens on his back. Things from his past. I testified that Jesus Christ can take all away for him and bring rest to his soul.

“Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

I know that God loves each of you, continue to pray. Never stay distant from him. He wants to hear from you. He wants and can take away the pain. Please say your prayers this week, all of you! Help others, give someone a hug and remember we all brothers and sisters! Thanks love you all!
Sister Patterson”
This is Tori’s mom here.  We are so sad to let you know that our Aunt Adair passed away yesterday.  If you follow Tori’s blog regularly you may have read some of Adair’s comments.  She always made Tori feel like she was her number one fan.  She has been fighting cancer and passed on Sunday afternoon.  We know that she has been welcomed home to her Heavenly Father and just have been imagining the happy reunion she must be having with her family members including her brother Bob: Tori’s Grandpa.  We pass on our condolences to her husband Garry and her very special Bella.
DSCN2316
Leave a Reply

