I’m Coming Home!

“Well still don´t feel like I am coming home, these days have just blurred, and life has been going by so quickly. It´s strange to think I have written 77 emails, and here´s 78, the last one. I´m coming home, tell the world that I´m coming home! So strange. Everyone has been asking me how I feel and I say, ¨Contenta y triste.¨ Content and sad. The mixed feelings I have had this week were weird. Random tears while walking in the streets especially. Just trying to soak in everything. Sights, sounds, people, culture. I will miss this. I want to come back to Ayutuxtepeque one day. I love my El Salvadoreneans. 

So for the randoms of the week.

I picked mangos off off a tree this week with a stick, harder then it looks. 

Forgot what the rain was like, we got hit hard last night when we were coming home… and the power went out! We ran like crazies in the dark!

We got matching jerseys in the zone, we are playing futbol today with Layco. My first and last p-day, same activities, crazy.

I haven´t packed yet. I don´t like packing.

Pres Hintze and Sister Hintze came to my ward Sunday, to hear me speak and also to give me my final interview. The last one, how weird. Love them!
Oh and my comp cut a lot of my hair off. Yep.
SAMSUNG CSC

Now for the finale.

Well this week has been a week of reflecting. My mind is all over the place. Reflecting on my mission and all that has happened in these past 18 months. 18 months is such a long time! I have been far far away for a year and a half. I´m so grateful for all the goodness that has happened in my mission. So much good. The adventure, the friends, the miracles, the culture, my conversion. All good things. 

I love reading Alma chapter 26 in the Book of Mormon. In this chapter Alma is reflecting on his mission and he gives thanks to the Lord for His mercy on him and to the people he taught and was with during his mission. He explains at times it was hard, but when their hearts were depressed, and they were at the point of turning back, the Lord gave them comfort and told them to bear their afflictions, and He would give them success. I have had so many times like that on my mission, where it just got really hard, when I didn´t feel like I was helping or working well enough, but the Lord, without waiting instantly gave me an overwhelming comfort and peace and let me feel in my heart, that it was all going to be okay and that I was doing more then my part, trying my best. My best is what I gave. And I saw the success in waiting patiently. I am so grateful I now have a firmer confidence in relying on my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. That through my mission I have been strengthened spiritually. A strength that cannot be bought. A strength that will help me for more than just this life. I am grateful I have had this time to be a full time representative of Jesus Christ, and that I was able to be an instrument in Gods hands. It´s been one of the biggest blessings for me in my life. I´m so grateful for the lives I have seen change, especially my own. Alma goes on to say that if he had never left Zarahemla (where he was from) the things he did on his mission would’ve never happened. Now seeing all the people I was able to help, makes me feel that same way. People were prepared for me to find, and if I hadn’t gone, I would never have had them in my life.  I love this gospel, I love these people, and I love my God– my Father in Heaven who heard my prayers, heard my cries, and has always been by my side. I have seen miracles. Angels have protected me. And I have seen the mercies of the Lord. And now like Alma, I can boast in my God and sing praises to Him forever.

I love the New Testament and I want to finish with a verse in 2 Timothy 4: 7

¨I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course. I have kept the faith.¨

Well, this is it… HURRAH HURRAH FOR ISRAEL! See you Thursday.

Sister Patterson”

5 thoughts on “I’m Coming Home!

  1. dcdav

    Hermana Patterson, what will I do now that I don’t have your blog to inspire me every week? All the best to you as you begin the next stage of your life. #thanksforyourexample
    Doran

    Reply
    1. Robin Hunter

      What a beautiful last post from a beautiful sister missionary who I am so grateful for! Welcome home 🙂

      Reply
  2. denisesugden

    Welcome back. I have loved reading your emails and peeking into your life. What a great experience you have had and what a great influence on many people you have been. Wish I could be in Vegas but I’ll be thinking of you and your family. Love Ya, Aunt Denise

    Reply
  3. Janet Hunt

    Wow! What a missionary! What a girl! proud of the person you have become and the way you have served the people and the Lord. Love you Tori.
    Janet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

